A map of Island Melanesia


A map of Island Melanesia

Island Melanesia Vanuatu Torres & Banks Islands Vanikoro

The area traditionally identified as Melanesia, in the southwestern Pacific, includes New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia and Fiji.

©  A. François 

I have done fieldwork mostly in the Torres and Banks Islands (Vanuatu) and Vanikoro (Solomon Is), in the centre of this map. (See other tabs on this page for close-up maps of these areas).