Online dictionaries

French
 
Version française


 

A dictionary of Teanu  (Vanikoro, Solomon islands)

shotWelcome to the 2019 online version of my Teanu – English dictionary. You can either download a Pdf version of the Teanu dictionary; or access the electronic version by clicking on the screenshot.

To cite this dictionary:


panpipeTeanu (a.k.a. Puma or Buma) is an Oceanic language spoken on the island of Vanikoro, in the province of Temotu, on the eastern tip of the Solomon Islands. With about 800 speakers, it is the largest language spoken on the island: it has replaced the two other languages Lovono and Tanema, with respectively 4 and 1 speaker(s) today.   [For more on this, see these maps, or my 2009 article]. Teanu’s vocabulary is quite original compared to other Oceanic languages – including the languages of the Reefs–Santa Cruz, supposedly related closely to Vanikoro languages.

mapThe present online Teanu dictionary is still very much in progress, due to the various projects I am committed to. While some entries are already reasonably detailed (e.g. ~botongo ‘impede, protect, take care’), others still need to be written. The published version will contain an introduction explaining typographical conventions and other elements useful to the reader. Feel free to contact me for any follow-up question regarding this dictionary.


I am grateful to LabEx EFL for their support in 2016 and 2017; and particularly to the two IT engineers who helped me for this project: Céline Buret and Benjamin Galliot. They wrote the Python code (respectively Pylmflib and Lexika) that allowed me to convert my dictionary from the Toolbox format to an XML file. Clément Plancq (Lattice-CNRS) wrote the script for the search engine. I personally worked on all segments of the chain: Lex, Python, Xml, Xslt, Js, Css, Html.


Alex François — Paris, January 2019

 

 

 
Top
 
 
 

©   Alexandre François 2019

Dictionnaires électroniques

line
 

Dictionnaire du teanu   (Vanikoro, îles Salomon)


shotBienvenue à la version électronique 2019 du dictionnaire teanu – anglais. Vous pouvez télécharger le dictionnaire teanu en pdf version Pdf, ou bien consulter la version électronique, en cliquant sur l’image.

Pour citer ce dictionnaire :


Le teanu (également connu comme puma ou buma) est une langue océanienne parlée sur l'île de Vanikoro, dans la province de Temotu, à l'est des îles Salomon. Avec 800 locuteurs, c'est la langue la plus importante qui soit parlée sur cette île : le teanu a de facto remplacé les deux autres langues, le lovono et le tanema, dotés respectivement de 4 et 1 locuteur(s) à ce jour [Cf. cette présentation, ces cartes, ou mon article de 2009]. Le vocabulaire du teanu est original, historiquement très innovant.


mapLe présent dictionnaire est encore en cours, du fait des nombreux projets que je mène en parallèle. Alors que certaines entrées sont déjà assez élaborées (ex. ~botongo ‘empêcher, protéger’), d’autres doivent encore être écrites. La version définitive de ce dictionnaire sera accompagnée d'explications plus détaillées. Contactez-moi pour toute question relative à ce dictionnaire.


Je remercie le Labex EFL pour son soutien en 2016–2017, et tout particulièrement les deux ingénieurs informaticiens qui m'ont aidé dans ce projet : Céline Buret et Benjamin Galliot. Ceux-ci ont écrit le code python (respectivement Pylmflib et Lexika) permettant de convertir mon dictionnaire du format Toolbox vers un fichier XML. Clément Plancq (Lattice-CNRS) a écrit le script pour le moteur de recherche. J'ai personnellement travaillé à tous les segments de la chaîne : Lex, Python, Xml, Xslt, Js, Css, Html.


Alex François — Paris, Janvier 2019